Professor Fengqi You receives George Lappin Award from AIChE

Fengqi You, the Roxanne E. and Michael J. Zak Professor in Energy Systems Engineering in the Smith School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, was selected by the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) Executive Committee award selection panel to receive the 2022 AIChE George Lappin Program Committee Service Award. AIChE is the world’s leading organization for chemical engineering professionals, with more than 60,000 members from over 110 countries. 

Professor You was specially recognized for his outstanding contributions to AIChE’s technical programming activities of multiple divisions related to computing and systems technologies, sustainability, and environment that demonstrate great enthusiasm, spirit of volunteerism and dedication to serving the chemical engineering community. The award letter from AIChE states that the award selection panel was very appreciative of Professor You’s long-term and wide-ranging programming efforts in AIChE and felt that he embodies the award criteria, which include (1) meritorious service on behalf of AIChE technical programming, (2) effectiveness and value of programming services to AIChE and its members, (3) compliance to the true spirit of volunteerism, (4) dedication to the profession of chemical engineering, and (5) significant record of extraordinary efforts in support of technical information exchange. The award consists of a plaque and an honorarium. Professor You will be officially recognized at a special award ceremony at the upcoming 2022 AIChE annual meeting. 

Professor You was recently elected as a Fellow of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE Fellow) in recognition of his significant professional accomplishments and contributions in engineering. He has won 15 national/international awards over the past five years from the AIChE, American Chemical Society (ACS), American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE), and American Automatic Control Council (AACC), in addition to multiple best paper awards.

Other Articles of Interest